Live Updates: The ICC World Cup 2019 is just round the corner and India will be announcing their 15-member squad for the marquee tournament on Monday. Eleven players select themselves due to their experience and performance — Virat Kohli (captain), MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Kedar Jadhav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Six players — KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Vijay Shankar and Ambati Rayudu — are in contention for the remaining four spots with Deepak Chahar being the wildcard.

Follow ICC World Cup 2019 Team India Cricket Squad Announcement LIVE Updates here –

Jadeja Factor

Wrist spinners Kuldeep and Chahal are Kohli’s bowling aces for this World Cup. Though they didn’t have a great tour of England last year, the left-right combination is expected to keep a few batsmen on edge with their variations. It remains to be seen if the management backs Ravindra Jadeja. A prized fielder, Jadeja can spin the ball away from right-handers and — as illustrated in Chennai Super Kings’ recent win in Jaipur — adds depth to India’s batting.

The back-up opener

Convention suggests back-up opener is a must at a World Cup. KL Rahul — who had mediocre outings when tested in the middle order — is the best batsman to come in should the opening combination fail. Statistics however back Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma — with averages of 65.06 and 57.25 in England — to do well.

Who will be the 15th member of India’s squad?

Who will be the 15th member of India’s squad? We think it will be one of these four cricketers. Let us know what you think by taking part in this poll.

Predicted XI

We at Hindustan Times tried our hand at predicting the India squad for World Cup 2019. Do you agree with us? Take a look at the predicted XI.

Hello and welcome

Welcome to the live coverage of the Indian cricket team squad announcement for the ICC World Cup 2019. In the past couple of months, we have heard every possible combination of this squad and today is the day when we finally get to know the players who will be representing India in the marquee event.

Source: Read Full Article