As many as 172 government primary schools in the district, with less than 10 students on their rolls, will be closed or merged with other schools within a kilometre.

Subsequent to an announcement of the policy of closing down or being merged with government schools with less enrolment by Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy in his recently presented budget, the Department of Public Instruction (DPI) has been busy preparing the list of schools that would be merged or closed.

There are 172 such schools in the district. Ironically, all of them are single-teacher schools. Most of them were established decades ago and the enrolment has been on the decline for the past several years, a senior officer at the DPI said.

Of the 172, 72 are in Nagamangala taluk. The remaining are in K.R. Pet taluk (32), Maddur (15), Malavalli (26), Mandya North Zone (15), Mandya South Zone (1), Pandavapura (9) and Srirangapatna (2) taluks or zones, a Block Education Officer said.

2,449 schools

According to Suryaprakash, Deputy Director, DPI, there are 1,638 government primary schools in Mandya district. The number of aided primary schools is 58 and unaided primary schools is 311. The district has 215 government high schools, 96 aided high schools and 131 unaided high schools. A total of 6,593 teachers are working at the government schools across the district, Mr. Suryaprakash told
The Hindu
here on Saturday.

Nevertheless, the department has not received any communiqués or notifications regarding closures or merger of government schools so far, the DDPI said.

Source: Read Full Article