86 new polling stations in Erode

A total of 86 new polling stations were added, increasing the number of polling stations from 2,115 to 2,201 in the eight Assembly constituencies in the district. A meeting to rationalise polling stations in the district was conducted at the Collectorate recently that was presided over by Collector S. Prabhakar. He said that as per the Election Commission of India’s instruction, a polling station should be provided for 1,200 electors in rural areas and 1,400 electors in urban areas.

Also, voters have to cover a distance of more than 2 km to reach polling stations. Hence, rationalisation of polling stations was done and the copies were handed over to the representatives of recognised police parties for their approval.

Representatives of recognised political parties, polling officers and assistant polling officers were present.

Source: Read Full Article