The 11 Assembly constituencies in the district have got 89 new polling stations, taking the total number of booths to 3,296.

District Collector Rohini R. Bhajibhakare held discussion with the representatives of recognised political parties on the creation of new polling booths by bifurcating the existing booths, shifting of the booths and also change in name of the booths at the Collectorate here on Saturday.

The Collector said that the district till recently accounted for 3,241 polling stations. The Election Commission had directed bifurcation of the existing booths with more than 1,400 voters in the urban areas and more than 1,200 voters in the rural areas and creation of new booths. Ms. Bhajibhakare said that the officials of the polling booths have send detailed report in this regard.

After verifying the details, 89 new booths were created in different constituencies – Gangavalli 8, Attur 6, Yercaud 5, Omalur 29, Mettur 14, Edappadi 10, Sankagiri 11, Salem West 2, Veerapandi 4.

The following are the details of the polling booths with the new additions: Gangavalli Assembly constituency – 263, Attur – 281, Yercaud – 316, Omalur – 345, Mettur – 315, Edappadi – 320, Sankagiri – 311, Salem West – 300, Salem North – 274, Salem South – 272, and Veerapandi constituency – 299. Ms. Bhajibhakare said that the proposal for the bifurcation, creation of new booths etc has to be submitted to the Chief Electoral Officer, Chennai by July 18. The Collector called upon the political party representatives to present the objections, suggestions etc in writing to the polling booth officials before July 12.

R. Sadheesh, Corporation Commissioner, C. Vijaybabu, PA (general) to the Collector, and other officials were present.

Source: Read Full Article