DMK working president M.K. Stalin has constituted a 12-member committee of young MLAs to oversee the setting up of booth committees in constituencies across the State.

Before leaving for the United Kingdom on a personal visit, Mr. Stalin invited a dozen party MLAs to his residence and assigned them the task of overseeing the constitution of the booth committees. They have been asked to complete the work by the end of August.

The committee members include Mahesh Poyyamozhi, T.R.B. Raja, Ko.Vi. Chezhian, Thayagam Kavi, S. Austin, M.P. Giri, Inbasekaran and Ezhilarasan — all in their thirties and early forties.

“Each of us has been allotted specific districts,” said a committee member, while rejecting reports that they were hand-picked for the task with the intention of undermining the district secretaries and party veterans.

They said they had already begun touring the State, with two teams visiting Kancheepuram and Cuddalore districts on Friday and holding meetings.

Their task is to reorganise the booth committees since they are the ones that would decide the fate of the party during the elections, though they don’t have sufficient support from the local leaders.

Each booth committee would have 25-30 party workers, and there would be anywhere between 700 and 800 booth committees in a constituency.

Source: Read Full Article