Taking further the ongoing Swachch Bharat Abhiyaan, the Ballari Zilla Panchayat has decided to establish 30 solid waste management units in as many gram panchayats spread over six taluks in the district.

A village in each of the 30 gram panchayats, where suitable land was available, was identified and a plan already prepared, has been approved by the government. A sum of Rs. 5.05 crore has also been released for the purpose.

The solid waste management units would come up in six gram panchayats of Hadagali taluk (Devagondanahalli, Makarabbi, Hagarnooru, Dasanahalli, Holalu and Uttangi), eight in Hagari Bommanahalli (Hampapattana, Hampasagar, Tambralli, Ambali, Gaddikere, Benakal, Alburu and Sovenahalli), four each in Sirguppa (Kudadarahalu, Kuruvalli, Baggur and Deshanuru) and Sandur (Narasangapur, Bannihaatti, Taranagar and Metriki), three in Kudligi (Jarmali, Toolahalli and Chiratagonda) and five in Hosapete (Bukkasagar, Malapanagudi, Hosur, Kallahalli and Papinayakanahalli). However, Ballari taluk has not been included in the scheme as of now.

Under the scheme, dust bins would be distributed to each one of the households, a mini vehicle would be acquired for collection of garbage, and it would be segregated at a shed to be constructed in each of the 30 places. The segregated waste would be further processed to produce compost, which would be sold to farmers to be used in their fields.

Sources told
The Hindu
that though the plan had been approved and funds also released, the execution was pending as the best model of the unit, already implemented in various parts of the State, was being chosen to be adopted so as to get the best results.

Source: Read Full Article