Close on the heels of 39 municipal corporators giving notice for no-confidence motion against mayor and deputy mayor in the Ramagundam municipal corporation, about 15 councillors of the Vemulawada municipal council submitted a petition seeking no-confidence motion against chairperson Namala Uma.

A total of 15 councillors — five each from TRS and Congress, four from BJP and one Independent — submitted a memorandum to DRO Shyam Prasad Lal in Sircilla textile town on Monday seeking no-confidence motion against the chairperson. The civic body has a total of 20 councillors.

Ms. Uma was elected on the BJP ticket and became chairperson in 2014. She has since shifted her loyalty to the TRS. Of the 20 councillor seats, the BJP has nine, Congress and TRS three each, and Independents five.

The corporators alleged that chairperson’s husband Namala Laxmirajam was playing a crucial role in all policy matters and not allowing them to take any decision.

It was said that vice-chairman Prathap Ramakrishna of the BJP was playing a key role in moving the no-confidence motion.

Similarly, in Huzurabad nagara panchayat, 15 ward members were said to be planning to move no-confidence motion against panchayat chairman Vadluri Vijay Kumar.

In the 2013 elections, the TRS won nine wards, Congress six, Independents three and TDP and BJP one each. Rebels alleged that the chairperson was neglecting development of Huzurabad grama panchayat and taking unilateral decisions. Incidentally, Huzurabad town is the headquarters of the Huzurabad Assembly segment represented by Minister Eatala Rajender.

Source: Read Full Article