TDP leaders keep themselves away from media glare on eve of counting of ballots

Stage is set for the counting of votes cast in general elections amid claims and counter-claims by the political parties over their victories.

The otherwise media-friendly Telugu Desam Party (TDP) leaders kept them away from the glares of cameras and pressers on the eve of counting day. Chief Minister and party president N. Chandrababu Naidu has been asserting that his party would win the elections hands down and come to power again.

R&B Minister Ch. Ayyanna Patrudu and HRD Minister Ganta Srinivasa Rao are in the fray from Narsipatnam and Visakhapatnam North Assembly constituencies respectively.

VV vibe

CBI former Joint Director V.V. Lakshminarayana who is contesting the Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha seat seems to have created a positive vibe in his favour. However, how he and the Jana Sena Party (JSP) splits the votes tilting the equation is quite crucial for the other contestants—M.V.V. Satyanarayana of the YSRCP and M. Sri Bharat of the TDP, poll pundits said.

The YSRCP has fielded mostly new faces though some of the candidates who had contested the 2014 elections have been retained.

On Wednesday, YSRCP leader Koyya Prasada Reddy, during a media conference, asserted that his party would emerge victorious.

“It is the last day of the TDP in power,” he said and expressed concern that the TDP cadres might create trouble.

He asked the YSRCP activists to maintain restraints.

YSRCP City president Vamsikrishna Srinivas, Mr. Reddy, VUDA former Chairman P.S.N. Raju (Ravi), Behera Bhaskara Rao and trade union leader Mantri Rajasekhar broke coconuts at Sampath Vinayaka temple in the evening and offered prayers for the victory of their party.

Source: Read Full Article