Here is a look at political developments of the day.

Narendra Modi swearing-in: Foreign leaders begin to arrive

Foreign leaders began arriving here from Wednesday evening for the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The first to arrive was Bangladesh President Mohammed Abdul Hamid.

Mr. Modi’s swearing-in is to be attended by Prime Minister of Mauritius Pravind Jugnauth, Prime Minister of Bhutan Lotay Tshering, President of Myanmar U Win Myint, President of Sri Lanka Maithripala Sirisena, and President of Kyrgyz Republic Sooronbay Jeenbekov. With the exception of Mauritius and Kyrgyz Republic, rest of the invitees are from the Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) grouping. Most of the leaders will land here by Thursday afternoon.

Read more


Congress to not send spokespersons to TV debates for a month

The Congress party on Thursday announced its decision not to send spokespersons and media panelists to take part in television debates.

“.@INCIndia has decided to not send spokespersons on television debates for a month,” tweeted Congress communication chief Randeep Surjewala.

“All media channels/editors are requested to not place Congress representatives on their shows,” he added.

Read more

Source: Read Full Article