Senior journalist and author T.J.S. George has been selected for the Swadesabhimani Kesari award 2017 instituted by the State government. The award comprises a cash prize of ₹1,00,000, a citation and statuette.

The jury chaired by Dr. Sebastian Paul selected Mr. George for the award for his contribution to journalism spanning a period of more than 50 years.

Beginning his career at Free Press Journal, Mumbai, Mr. George worked as reporter at the International Press Institute, The Searchlight, Far Eastern Economic Review and Indian Express. He is the founder editor of Asiaweek.

A sharp social and political commentator, he was the first editor to be sentenced to imprisonment in independent India for exercising the freedom of expression. He has authored 20 books in English and Malayalam including the biographies of V.K. Krishna Menon, M.S. Subbalakshmi, Nargis, Pothen Joseph, and Lee Kuan Yew.

Mr. George is the recipient of the Padmabhushan award.

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan will present the award to Mr. George at a function to be held here on July 1.

Source: Read Full Article