Mamata vows to stop the BJP win in 2019.

West Bengal Congress suffered a major defection on Saturday with five of its MLAs joining Trinamool Congress at the ruling party annual Martrys Day rally in Kolkata.

Former Rajya Sabha member of the BJP, Chandan Mitra also joined Trinamool Congress at the rally in presence of Mamata Banerjee. The Congress MLAs who switched sides are Sabina Yasmin, Apurba Sarkar, Akrurzaman, Samar Mukherjee and Moinul Hasan. They are legislators from Malda and Murshidabad district.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, while addressing the rally said that the party will ensure that the BJP government does not return to party in 2019.

Ms. Banerjee said that a federal front of regional parties will ensure that BJP is defeated. Referring to the 325 votes polled in favour of BJP-led government at the no confidence motion on Friday, she said that the figure will come down to 100 or 150 in the next Lok Sabha polls.

Source: Read Full Article