Hisar, Haryana’s steel city and a politically crucial parliamentary constituency, will see a triangular contest among the Gen Next of the important political clans of the state.

In the fray is former chief minister Bhajan Lal’s 26-year-old grandson and Kuldip Bishnoi’s son Bhavya Bishnoi. Bhavya Bishnoi will take on the BJP’s Brijendra Singh, a former IAS officer and son of Union steel minister Birender Singh and MLA mother from Uchana Prem Lata. Singh is also the great-grandson of prominent farmer leader Chotu Ram.

Jannayak Janta Party’s (JJP’s) Dushyant Chautala, who is also the sitting member of Parliament, is the third candidate in the battle of political dynasties. He is the grandson of former chief minister Om Prakash Chautala and the great-grandson of former deputy prime minister Chaudhary Devi Lal.

Dushyant Chautala is contesting his first Lok Sabha election after floating his own party following the split in Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) in December last year.

The results, many say, would also pave the way for the crucial assembly election due later this year.

The Hisar Lok Sabha seat has nine assembly segments of Uchana Kalan, Adampur, Uklana (SC), Narnaund, Hansi, Barwala, Hisar, Nalwa, Bawani Khera (SC) and also the Jat heartland in the state. It is one of the few seats with the INLD.

All the ten parliamentary constituencies in Haryana will vote in the sixth round of the seven-phased Lok Sabha election on May 12. The votes will be counted on May 23.

Click here for full coverage of Lok Sabha elections

Here are a few details about the Hisar Lok Sabha seat:

State: Haryana

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Hisar

Polling date: May 12

2019 candidates: Dushyant Chautala (JJP), Brijendra Singh (BJP), Suresh Kauth (INLD), Bhavya Bishnoi (Congress)

Sitting MP, party: Dushyant Chautala, JJP

Winning margin in 2014: 31,847

Runner up name, party: Kuldeep Bishnoi, HJC(BL)

Number of voters in 2014: 1,155,914

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 76.17%

Number of women voters in 2014: 691,918

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,513

First Published:
Apr 29, 2019 19:17 IST

Source: Read Full Article