After its principal opponent, the Telugu Desam Party, stole a march over it by moving a no-trust vote against the Modi government on Friday, the YSR Congress Party plans to push for byelections to the five Lok Sabha seats vacated by its MPs.

The party has sought an appointment with the Election Commission on Monday to demand the byelections, though elections to the next Lok Sabha are due in early 2019.

“As per rules, if the remaining period is less than six months for the next polls [Lok Sabha or Assembly], then the bypolls need to be held. Our MPs resigned on April 6. Speaker Sumitra Mahajan took her time accepting the resignations. But to this day, there is more than six months remaining. So we will request the Election Commission to hold the bypolls at the earliest,” Vijay Sai Reddy, Rajya Sabha member of the YSRCP, told
The Hindu
. Mr. Reddy said the MPs had resigned to take the issue to the people, and the party was in no mood to delay any longer. They will be meeting Ms. Mahajan to seek the disqualification of four of its MPs, who defected to TDP and TRS.

Source: Read Full Article