Pradip Choudhury, who formed the central defensive pair with Subroto Bhattacharya when Mohun Bagan took on Pele’s Cosmos team in 1977, was conferred the Mohun Bagan Ratna 2018 at the annual Mohun Bagan Day here on Sunday.

Choudhury, who got a cheque for Rs. 1 lakh, said he became more popular after switching from Mumbai to Kolkata. “I was a better player in Bombay, but who knew me then? I am what I am because of Mohun Bagan,” said Choudhury.

Shilton Paul was given the Best Footballer for the Year award and Sudip Chatterjee was handed the Best Cricketer of the Year honour. Sourav Das was the Best Youth Footballer

Rahim Ali received a special award for his performance for Indian team in the FIFA under-17 World Cup last year.

Several former Bagan captains were given Gold Cards, which will give them seats during the club’s matches.

Source: Read Full Article