When the Asia Cup 2018 fixtures were announced, there was a genuine buzz in the air as soon as Indian cricket fans found out about the India-Pakistan game on September 19.

The rivalry between India and Pakistan remains a feisty one, but political tensions between the two countries over the years means clashes between the two sides have been restricted to ICC events only.

However, a report in CricketNext indicates that the BCCI is unhappy about having to play against a qualifier just one day before the derby against neighbours Pakistan.

ALSO READ | Virat Kohli presented with Player of the Year trophies by Barmy Army

“The scheduling is mindless. There appears to be zero application of mind,” a senior BCCI official said according to the CricketNext report.

“How can you accept a scenario where India plays a game today and tomorrow it will face its arch-rival Pakistan who will have a two-day period of rest?”

“This is unacceptable and has to be revisited. Maybe for the organisers it is just a money-spinning game but for us it is important that there be equity in scheduling,” the unnamed official added.

Pakistan will also play a match against a qualifier on September 16, but they will get a two-day break to rest and recuperate for the match against India.

ALSO READ | ‘Virat Kohli and co. must target England spin with caution’

By contrast, India will play against a qualifier on September 18 then take to the field the very next day for what is sure to be a much tougher match and with much higher stakes against Pakistan.

Full Asia Cup schedule:

Group Stage

15 September – Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka (Dubai)

16 September – Pakistan vs Qualifier (Dubai)

17 September – Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi)

18 September – India vs Qualifier (Dubai)

19 September – India vs Pakistan (Dubai)

20 September – Bangladesh vs Afghanistan (Abu Dhabi)

Super Four

21 September – Group A Winner vs Group B Runner-up (Dubai)

21 September – Group B Winner vs Group A Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)

23 September – Group A Winner vs Group A Runner-up (Dubai)

23 September – Group B Winner vs Group B Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)

25 September – Group A Winner vs Group B Winner (Dubai)

26 September – Group A Runner-up vs Group B Runner-up (Abu Dhabi)

Final – 28 September (Dubai)

Source: Read Full Article