Siechem Madurai Panthers scripted a comfortable seven-wicket win over former champion Jones Tuti Patriots in the Sankar Cement TNPL at the NPR CET grounds in Natham on Sunday.

Chasing 166, K.B. Arun Karthick and D. Rohit gave Panthers a flying start, racing to 55 for loss at the end of PowerPlay. The openers kept the run-rate flowing before M. Ganesh Moorthi broke the partnership (71 off 50 balls) when he dismissed Rohit.

Karthick notched up his half-century off 38 balls, but fell soon to V. Athisayaraj Davidson with the score at 110.

P. Shijit Chandran and J. Kousik kept the momentum going for Panthers. Just when their partnership looked threatening, Davidson dismissed Chandran. But, Kousik played sensibly and guided his team home.

Earlier, the in-form Patriots’s skipper M. Kaushik Gandhi displayed aggressive intent dispatching Abhishek Tanwar for a six in the first over. However, Tanwar struck in his next over when Gandhi top-edged a pull that was picked up by Rahil Shah at deep mid-wicket with the score at 20.

Panthers’s bowlers kept it tight. Still S. Dinesh, the other opener, and Anand Subramanian managed to keep the scoreboard ticking at a steady pace. They put on 44 for the second wicket before Dinesh was caught near the fence by Arun Karthick off Varun Chakravarthi in the 10th over.

Subramanian was joined by Akshay Srinivasan and they added 69 runs off 46 balls for the third wicket, providing the much-needed impetus to Patriots’s innings. R. Sathish, who came in at No. 5, scored an unbeaten 24 off just 10 balls, which included three sixes off L. Kiran Akash in the final over, as Patriots posted 165. Tanwar scalped three wickets.

In the day’s second match, Dindigul Dragons, riding on a good start from C. Hari Nishaanth (50) and a late charge by N.S. Charturved (41 not out), defeated VB Kanchi Veerans by seven wickets.

Earlier, put in to bat, Veerans managed only 27 runs for the loss of four wickets in the PowerPlay.

However, R.S. Mokit Hariharan (77 not out, 50b, 5×4, 5×6) and P. Francis Rokins (64 not out, 41b, 3×4, 5×6) staged a brilliant fightback, stitching together an unbeaten 139-run partnership off 85 balls for the fifth wicket to help their team post a competitive total.

The scores:

Jones Tuti Patriots 165 for five in 20 overs (S. Dinesh 35, Anand Subramanian 44, Akshay V. Srinivasan 42, Abhishek Tanwar three for 28) lost to Siechem Madurai Panthers 166 for three in 18.4 overs (K.B. Arun Karthick 59, D. Rohit 28, P. Shijit Chandran 29, J. Kousik 38 n.o., V. Athisayaraj Davidson two for 30).

VB Kanchi Veerans 166 for four in 20 overs (R.S. Mokit Hariharan 77 n.o., P. Francis Rokins 64 n.o., M.E. Yazh Arun Mozi two for 24) lost to Dindigul Dragons 171 for three in 19.1 overs (C. Hari Nishaanth 50, N. Jagadeesan 41, B. Anirudh Sita Ram 27, N.S. Chaturved 41 n.o.).

Source: Read Full Article